Litter Mysteries

Image courtesy of Stockvault.

I live out in rural Alabama, where there is plenty of green space to see as you drive along the country roads. Most people might enjoy seeing what there is to see of nature out in rural America, but there are still a few people who think the ditches are perfect for waste disposal. While people drive along they can’t see what gets thrown out. However, I take strolls along these roads, and I get to see all kinds of things people throw out.

Normally the trash is fairly standard. People who drive practice applied laziness here in my neck of the woods, so although they’ll get crumbs or spilled beer in their cars, they can’t bear the thought of the wrapper or can remaining after they’ve finished. It’s a convoluted calculus.

But then there are times when I see something get thrown out that I end up wondering how it got there. These are things that beg for explanation, even if it’s purely conjecture. And on my walk Thursday, I noticed something truly inexplicable: an air freshener inside a used condom.

Now that I’ve shared this with the Internet, I feel better.

If anyone can provide an explanation for this particular combination of country litter, I’d be more than happy to entertain theories.

5 thoughts on “Litter Mysteries

  1. I’m going to say this is one of those “if you have to ask you don’t want to know” situations.
    That being said… Clearly they thought the condom smelled gross after use and decided an air freshener might make it smell a little better for whoever had to clean it up.
    😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

