Do You Have a Writer’s Group?

Image courtesy of Stockvault.

I’m going to another meeting of my writer’s group this evening, and I’m excited. Getting feedback from other people who struggle with the same stuff I do is something I really look forward to. I really hope it goes well, and that I will be able to contribute to the overall improvement of the group.

Writing groups aren’t always for everyone, though. This group requires participation in critiques in order to receive any. Constructive criticism is a great way to improve writing, but sometimes people might not be able to see past the feedback for what it really is – a chance to get some support for one’s work. The thought of having one’s labors dissected in front of them is enough to terrify even the bravest people.

Still, this group has only met twice, but I hope that it lasts for a while. The people I’ve met are amazing, and they’re a very welcoming bunch. Between this and the write-in that I drop by, I can say that the writers I meet here in Huntsville are a good bunch of people.

7 thoughts on “Do You Have a Writer’s Group?

  1. I don’t have a writer’s group. I’m never sure if I’d like one or not, because I’m introverted by nature and not so confident. However online interaction with others going through the same processes has been very encouraging for me, so who knows.

    Liked by 3 people

    • I understand, I’ve been dragging my feet for another reason. It’s hard for me to know how much critiquing will be worth it because I worry about “tweaking to death” a piece of work. At some point, revising too much can lead to writing yourself into a corner. But, some feedback is definitely worth it. If you are an introvert, you should try http://www.scribophile.com/ it’s a great place to get feedback and many writers that use it have gotten published. You post your chapters and you get “Karma points” for providing feedback. It’s great and it might be something that works with your personality. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

    • If online interaction works, then that’s a good thing. Personally, I don’t think there’s one right way to get feedback; it all has to suit every writer’s individual needs. Are there any online groups that you recommend?

      Liked by 1 person

    • The one I went to last night was great. I’m on the waiting list for review, but everyone there was thorough and gave awesome feedback. Even though my stuff wasn’t reviewed, I did get to hear some good advice. And I also got to read an awesome idea for a short story and an opening chapter to what ought to be a pretty good novel.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

